The list of MPs who voted to exclude themselves from the Freedom of Information Act has a few surprises in it.  The biggest surprise was Tom Watson who has done so much through his blog to open up the life of an MP and the House of Commons.  I guess Tom wants to decide how much we find out rather than for him to be governed by the FoI act.

On the short list of MP who opposed it were John Redwood, Mark Fisher, George Galloway and a tight group of 9 LibDems.  Biggest surprise there wasn’t the George who voted but the one that didn’t.  George Osborne has spoken regularly about more transparent government but he didn’t make it for the vote.  The other absentee was the rest of the Liberal Democrat Party.


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: